Busy Wedding Bee

One down, two more to go!! Not exams, not house chores but weddings. Yes, I’m talking about weddings. Indian weddings are just long, loud and the busiest. I’m sure others are too but I can only speak about Indian weddings. Not being directly related to someone can still get you drained that you need another week of holidays to recuperate.

I just got back from my sister’s brother-in law’s wedding in Nagda, Madhya Pradesh in India. It’s another wedding on the list that I’ve really enjoyed, maybe because I’m older to realize what’s going on. Functions at home started from the 15th till 18th-19th, we all were 60% settled.

Let me show you how the place was decorated where the “groom” stays..IMG_2739

It’s a pretty sight, especially at night. It got even prettier with the passage filled with flowers such a marigold and rose petals on the day of the wedding.

Now let me tell you what’s actually very stressful about attending weddings…It’s the clothes. Planning and preparing your outfit for every function. And you always need to pack at least 2 extra outfit because some sort of veneration or event pops up. Outfits always have Indian suits (salvaar kameez), long skirt and crop top/blouse (Lehenga) and Sarees.

Wedding Time Capsule

Day 1 – 

Left- Silk Saree Right- Kashmiri Design Jacket with Silk Pants
Left- Silk Saree
Right- Kashmiri Design Jacket with Silk Pants

And how can I forget the most awaited part for most girls in any wedding is the Mehendi, Henna (Tattoo). I had a bad cold so I asked them to fill only half of my palm so I could hold a tissue. And since it’s winter time in India, it takes longer for the Mehendi to dry up..so we sat by the window enjoying the sun.

mehendi collage

 

Day 2 Make up & hair done by Isha Khanna Makeup Artist (Delhi, India)

Net Saree turned into a Suit - Long top with Wide Pants
Net Saree turned into a Suit – Long top with Wide Pants
Accessory is always a MUST!
Accessory is always a MUST!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Day 3 The wedding day!! We dance the groom to the bride’s place or wedding venue. It’s the classic Indian thing to do, called Baraati Dance! The groom’s side dances lined in front of the groom, while he sits on a carriage or horse.

Groom on his carriage!
Groom on his carriage!
Wedding Look 1 - Lehenga and Gorgeous Accessories (Makeup by Isha Khanna)
Wedding Look 1 – Lehenga and Gorgeous Accessories
(Makeup by Isha Khanna)
Wedding Look 2 - Lehenga with cape
Wedding Look 2 – Lehenga with cape
The wedding ceremony. Phera (7), walking around the sacred fire.
The wedding ceremony. Phera (7), walking around the sacred fire.

It was freezing at 2 a.m in India (it was ‘winter’ time), the sacred fire probably kept them warm, but the others…we only just survived by hot coffee and tea.

Day 4- Welcoming the Bride and Groom! They even play a game where the couple needs to find rings or whichever ornament thrown into the scented milk-water with rose petals. Whoever finds the ornaments first in the 5 rounds is considered the “boss” of their house. Unfortunately, the bride is always requested to lose or be less competitive and the groom is asked to make sure he wins the LAST ROUND! It’s a funny weird game we play.

IMG_2890 IMG_2891

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The 5 rounds game- What a quest!
The 5 rounds game- What a quest!

Day 5 – Remember I mentioned about random events taking place. Random functions you need to attend or initiate. You don’t need to always look like a glam doll, hence these looks…

them collage

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Creating the outfits for each event is a hassle, but once you put it on you feel like you’re in a movie. At least I do, because my daily wear are more than super casual. Besides the clothes being the exciting part of the wedding , the food is to die for. If only I were handsfree enough to click photos of what I was hogging, you would drool too. Next time, maybe in 10 days from the next wedding I attend of my childhood friend in Chennai, India.

Until the next..wedding 🙂

 

 

Leave a comment